I’m in my early 20’s and I cried on Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day and to be honest, I did not expect to have shed tears by noon. I probably haven’t cried on a Father’s Day since I was a small child, but I’ve been finally addressing the emotional issues throughout my life and for a moment, I felt like I was that kid crying because his father didn’t enough attention. Oh, I forgot to mention that he didn’t want to do anything with me and my siblings today. Anyway, I’m not blaming him for anything. These issues have driven me to become the person that I am today and I am proud of how far I’ve come. However, there are some drawbacks. I’ve realized that I’m a perfectionist. My dad always had very high expectations of me when I was younger. I used to have the best handwriting in my class, but I was constantly erasing and rewriting words because it wasn’t perfect. Eventually, I decided that I valued my time a lot more and settled with slightly messy handwriting. However, this pressure of being the best probably resulted in me being so involved in high school. (I’ve talked about some of the things I’ve accomplished in another post.) I’m aware that there was this fixed mindset, but I’ve learned to change that into a growth mindset. It shifts the focus from the goal to yourself and if you focus on yourself, the goal becomes much easier to accomplish. Crying is okay, it’s very cathartic. I feel pretty great now. I processed it and now I’m moving on.

Leave a Reply

